The CISSP Certification

The Credential That Inspires The Utmost Confidence

If you are planning to take your career in information security to the next level, then the Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP) certificate must be a part of your credentials.

Now globally recognized as an undeniable measure of Information Security knowledge and understanding, the CISSP was the first certification in this growing field and accredited by both the International Standards Organization and the American National Standards Institute.

Achieving the CISSP honor proves to potential employers your high comprehension of the ten domains of the CISSP Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). These ten domains are:

  • (01) – Access Control
  • (02) – Application Development Security
  • (03) – Business Continuity and Disaster Recovery Planning
  • (04) – Cryptography
  • (05) – Information Security Governance and Risk Management
  • (06) – Legal, Regulations, Investigations and Compliance
  • (07) – Operations Security
  • (08) – Physical (Environmental) Security
  • (09) – Security Architecture and Design
  • (10) – Telecommunications and Network Security

    This prestigious credential is most ideal for experienced professionals in the information security field who are currently managers, CISOs, CSOs, Network Engineers, Security Engineers, Security Administrators, or anyone who performs work that includes the following functions within their company or organization:

  • Work requiring the exercise of excellent judgment, management, decision-making, and discretion.
  • Work requiring a college degree or special IT education.
  • Management of projects and/or other employees.
  • Supervision of the work of others while working with a minimum of supervision of one’s self.
  • Creative and/or professional writing and oral communication.
  • Teaching, instructing, training and/or the mentoring of others.
  • Industry research and systems development.
  • The specification and selection of controls, identification and authentication technology.


    All CISSP candidates must qualify and meet the following requirements prior to being eligible for the opportunity to sit for the CISSP examination:

  • Have a minimum of five years of direct full-time security professional work experience in two or more of the ten domains of the CISSP CBK, or four years of direct full-time security professional work experience in two or more of the ten domains of the CISSP CBK with a college degree. Alternatively there is a one-year waiver of the professional experience requirement for holding an additional credential on the (ISC)2-approved list.
  • Complete the Candidate Agreement, attesting to the truth of his or her assertions regarding professional experience and legally commit to adhere to the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics.
  • Successfully answer four questions regarding criminal history and related background.


    cissp exam

    The CISSP exam is one of the most intimidating of any in the Information Technology profession.  This examination will cover the vast information covered in the 10 domains known as the Common Body of Knowledge.  You will not be allowed to use calculators or cell phones during the exam.  Even your bathroom breaks are monitored.  You will be given 6 hours to complete your exam.  While at first glance you may feel that you will be able to complete the 250 questions with plenty of time to spare, but you must understand that many questions require critical thinking and consideration.  The large amount of material doesn’t lend itself to mere memorization.  Instead you must understand the knowledge and be able to apply it critically. It is important that you follow the many guidelines that you will learn in the course to ensure you complete the exam within the allotted time while having also having time to consider and review your answers. Proctors of the exam are independent CISSP’s.  By proctoring exams, a CISSP earns CPE (continuing professional education) credits that are necessary to maintain your CISSP title in good standing. This requires that you earn 20 CPE credits per year.